Manila Bankers Life Insurance Corporation v. Aban
Manila Bankers Life Insurance Corporation v. Cresencia P. Aban, G.R. No. 175666, July 29, 2013
- Commercial Law
- Procedural (Remedial Law)
- life insurance
- incontestability clause
- Section 48 Insurance Code
- rescission
- fraudulent concealment
- fraud and misrepresentation
- prescription
- civil case for annulment
- burden of proof
- insurable interest
I. Facts of the Case
Manila Bankers Life Insurance Corporation issued a life insurance policy (Policy No. 747411, face value ₱100,000.00) to Delia Sotero on August 30, 1993, with respondent Cresencia P. Aban designated as beneficiary; Sotero died on April 10, 1996 and Aban filed a claim on July 9, 1996. Manila Bankers Life alleged that Sotero did not apply for the policy because of illiteracy and other purported incapacity issues, and that Aban allegedly procured the policy and allegedly caused a forgery, but the RTC and CA found as a key fact that Sotero herself obtained the insurance for herself. The dispute turned on whether the insurer’s action for rescission/annulment based on fraud or alleged want of insurable interest was still provable after more than two years from policy effectivity when the insured was already alive during that period. The Court had to decide whether Section 48’s two-year incontestability rule barred the insurer from proving that the policy was void ab initio or rescindible by reason of fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation, considering the timeline of issuance, death, and the insurer’s denial and suit.
July 3, 1993
Delia Sotero took out a life insurance policy from Manila Bankers Life Insurance Corporation, designating Cresencia P. Aban as beneficiary.
August 30, 1993
Manila Bankers Life issued Insurance Policy No. 747411 to Sotero with a face value of ₱100,000.00 after medical examination and payment of the premium.
April 10, 1996
Sotero died while the policy had been in force for more than two years and seven months.
July 9, 1996
Aban filed a claim for the insurance proceeds.
April 16, 1997
Manila Bankers Life denied Aban’s claim and refunded the premiums paid, after an investigation yielding findings that included allegations that Sotero did not personally apply and that Aban allegedly filed the application and designated herself as beneficiary.
April 24, 1997
Manila Bankers Life filed a civil case for rescission and/or annulment of the policy (Civil Case No. 97-867) in Branch 134 of the Makati Regional Trial Court, alleging fraud, concealment, and/or misrepresentation under the Insurance Code.
December 9, 1997
The RTC granted Aban’s Motion to Dismiss and dismissed Civil Case No. 97-867, ruling that Sotero procured the insurance and applying Section 48’s two-year limitation to hold the insurer’s suit was barred after more than two years.
October 20, 1998
The RTC denied Manila Bankers Life’s motion for reconsideration.
September 28, 2005
The Court of Appeals dismissed the insurer’s appeal (CA-G.R. CV No. 62286) for lack of merit, sustaining the RTC and holding that after more than two years the insurer could no longer prove that the policy was void ab initio or rescindible due to alleged fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation.
November 9, 2006
The Court of Appeals denied Manila Bankers Life’s Motion for Reconsideration.
July 29, 2013
The Supreme Court denied Manila Bankers Life’s petition for review on certiorari and affirmed the CA’s decision and resolution, applying Section 48’s incontestability rule and giving weight to the concurrent factual finding that Sotero obtained the insurance.
II. Issues
Whether or not the insurer’s action to rescind or annul the life insurance policy on grounds of fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation is barred by Section 48’s two-year incontestability rule when the insured died after the two-year period and the insurer sued only after denial of the claim.
Whether or not the Supreme Court should disturb the concurrent factual finding of the trial court and the Court of Appeals that Sotero obtained the insurance for herself.
III. Ruling
Whether or not the insurer’s action to rescind or annul the life insurance policy on grounds of fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation is barred by Section 48’s two-year incontestability rule when the insured died after the two-year period and the insurer sued only after denial of the claim.
Section 48’s incontestability rule barred the insurer from proving the policy was void ab initio or rescindible for fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation because the policy had been in force for more than two years during the insured’s lifetime before the insurer’s challenge was effectively brought after the two-year period.
How the Court reasoned
- Section 48’s purpose is to compel insurers to thoroughly investigate the insured while the insured is still alive and the policy is still within the two-year period, so beneficiaries get stability after two years.
- The law assumes insurers will investigate properly and prevents them from collecting premiums while the insured is alive and then denying liability only after the insured dies.
- The phrase in Section 48 referring to the policy being in force “during the lifetime of the insured” means the relevant incontestability period runs until the insured dies, and the “two years” refers to the period the policy is in force during the insured’s lifetime.
- Here, the policy was issued on August 30, 1993, the insured died on April 10, 1996, and the insurer denied the claim on April 16, 1997; thus, more than two years had passed before the insurer’s challenge.
- Given that the insured died after the two-year period, the insurer was barred from proving that the policy was void ab initio or rescindible due to fraudulent concealment/misrepresentation.
“The ultimate aim of Section 48 of the Insurance Code is to compel insurers to solicit business from or provide insurance coverage only to legitimate and bona fide clients, by requiring them to thoroughly investigate those they insure within two years from effectivity of the policy and while the insured is still alive. If they do not, they will be obligated to honor claims on the policies they issue, regardless of fraud, concealment or misrepresentation.”
Rule applied
Section 48 of the Insurance Code
Whether or not the Supreme Court should disturb the concurrent factual finding of the trial court and the Court of Appeals that Sotero obtained the insurance for herself.
The Supreme Court declined to disturb the lower courts’ concurrent factual findings, including the decisive finding that Sotero herself obtained the insurance, thereby weakening the insurer’s later fraud-based theory.
How the Court reasoned
- The Court emphasized that the concurrent factual findings of the RTC and CA—especially the finding that Sotero obtained the insurance—bind the Court absent a showing of lack of substantial evidence.
- The insurer’s claim that Aban obtained the policy, including the alleged scheme involving the underwriter, was treated as largely self-serving and ineffective given the key factual findings that the policy procurement was by Sotero.
- Because the insurer’s investigation occurred only after the insured died and after a claim was filed, the Court viewed the insurer’s failure to detect the alleged scheme earlier as negligence that Section 48 is designed to prevent.
- With the crucial finding that Sotero obtained the insurance for herself, the insurer’s case became severely weakened and effectively disproved.
“With the above crucial finding of fact - that it was Sotero who obtained the insurance for herself - petitioner's case is severely weakened, if not totally disproved.”
Rule applied
Section 48 of the Insurance Code
Doctrines
Section 48’s incontestability clause requires insurers to investigate and raise defenses of fraudulent concealment or misrepresentation within the two-year period from policy effectivity during the lifetime of the insured; after two years, the insurer can no longer prove the policy void ab initio or rescindible on such ground.
Insurers cannot rely on investigations conducted only after a claim is filed and after the two-year incontestability period has elapsed; the failure to timely investigate is precisely what Section 48 prevents.
Final Disposition
WHEREFORE, the Petition is DENIED. The assailed September 28, 2005 Decision and the November 9, 2006 Resolution of the Court of Appeals in CA-G.R. CV No. 62286 are AFFIRMED. SO ORDERED
Notes
The Court applied full force to Section 48, stressing insurer negligence in delaying investigation until after the insured’s death and the filing of the claim, and it gave weight to the concurrent finding that Sotero obtained the insurance for herself.